ALBUM REVIEW: LIP CRITIC – LIP CRITIC II

Today’s random Bandcamp spin came in the form of the electro-punk of NYC’s Lip Critic. I was intrigued by the prospect of two samplers, two drummers, and a vocalist as the components of the band, and I’m glad I gave it a listen! This is the latest release from the group and it owes as much to hip-hop/club music as it does punk rock. It apparently is a concept album, telling the story of an alien abductee returning to earth.

The album sounds pretty cool, with deep synth bass and melody loops playing out over cool beats. The vocals come fast, with lyrics flying fast and tight. Glitchy at times, like Aphex Twin, direct and hard hitting like a hardcore punk troupe at other times, it’s a pretty fun ride! This is a heavily processed collection of tunes, with all sorts of digital chaos spinning around in the sonic soup they’ve stewed.

Sometimes it’s nice to check out something that’s really different from what you’ve been listening to, and this fit the bill nicely today. The timbre of the band is cool and I dug the energy. Fans of stuff like Planet B, The Faint, later era Beastie Boys, etc might find this worth their while. Check it out! – Jason

Why Not? – The beat and bassline are hard not to dance to, and the vocal attack sort of reminds me of the 80s-90s British rap-rock band Senser. It’s an ok song, if anything it’s the repetitive lyrics that sort of sink this tune a bit.

Blueman – This song takes about 30 seconds to get going, but once it does, it’s pretty fun. I’m reminded of Mindless Self Indulgence a bit. Again, the beat and synth bass do a good job of establishing a solid groove and I’m bobbing my head and stomping my foot. I like how the vocalist bounces the syllables at times in this track. Cool stuff!

How Could You Do This To Me/Why Would You Do This To Me? – Ah! Hardcore punk with samplers! The intensity is up and the drums are driving this tune hard. It’s intense and fun and at just a minute-and-a-half long, it leaves you wanting more. Thumbs up!

6FT Tongue (When I’m With You) – Yeah! I’m digging the weird pulse of this heavily hip-hop inflected tune! The glitch effects on the vocals are bad ass and totally sci-fi reminiscent. The Alvin and the Chipmunk backing vocals work surprisingly well! I’m into it!

Dreamland 1 – This track opens with a video game-esque arpeggiating looping melody and a cool vocal haranguing. This is ridiculously catchy. I just wanna dance! They wisely slip into a darker, more ominous bit that keeps it all slamming. Thumbs way up!

Dreamland 2 – Dang! Cool transition from the prior track! The hip hop influence is bigger at first, but back comes the punk rock for the buzzing, head-in-a-hive chorus. This is slick! The poly-rhythms from the dual drummers are sweet. Thumbs way up on this one too!

Monkey’s Paw Crystal Ball – Huge hip-hop influence on this number, and after a sort of awkward over use of a dialogue sample at the start, it sets in on a cool, off-putting groove. In ways, this reminds me of Great Malenko era ICP, of all things. I dig the wall of sound and “Distort Everything” vibe of this track. The vocal guest spot (ID. Sus?) in the second half is a little unnecessary, but it’s fine. Good stuff.

Like A Lemon! – This tune features another cool beat below a cool vocal performance, I dig how this guy wraps words around the pulse! It’s a solid tune. It’s catchy and fun and I’m dancing in my seat as it builds. It’s got a bit of DEVO DNA in it, I think. I’m into it.

Lip Critic – The final cut catches your attention with glitchy accents and a blown-out, distorted caterwaul of sound. Unfortunately, while it’s got some neat elements, its overall a little underwhelming compared to the rest of the songs. It just feels half-baked and needs “something” to make it pop.

Leave a comment